Unanswered Prayers?

People often ask God for a sign (as if this enormous, beautiful world is not enough); A gust of wind, a fish jumping out of the water. Some of you want him to answer your questions in an instant or essentially whisper into your ears. I mean, if you can’t really hear or see him, he can’t be real, right? People can claim that none of their prayers have been answered, but in reality, this isn’t really the case.

“my life is nothing like it was a year ago”

This is a common phrase that gets thrown around. I recently used this phrase when I had the optimistic realization that my life is finally getting on track. What I tend to notice is that the things that are different from a year ago, are all the things that I had prayed about. All the things I had questioned God about, even the places in life I had gave up on have all sorted themselves out. I cannot take the full credit for coming to where and who I am today.

The Lord works in many ways. Do not doubt his abilities or his presence in your life because he is listening. God wants what is best for us even when we want something else. Do not turn your back from him because you do not see instant results from your prayers, instead take that time to pray more, ask more, try to understand more.

Personally, I struggle with this a great deal, I often look around at other people’s lives who appear to have everything in order causing me to question where I stand. Why is God not helping me? but I have found that in time, my problems did not just disappear because I pushed them aside, and my desires did not fade because I gave up on them. Whether the outcome was what I wanted initially or not, I recognize that everything happens for a reason. There is a plan for everyone, and a reason as to why we do what we do and why the things that happen to us, happen.

” and this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us.”

1 John 5:14 ESV

 

Leave a Reply

